GoForex
Gain Capital Reviews
Managed Forex Accounts
Choose from a multitude of forex traders. More
Featured Forex Brokers
Open a free demo or live account with a featured forex broker. More
AutoTrading
Copy the trades of expert traders automatically on your own account. More

Gain Capital Reviews

2010/11 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2010 - Apr 30, 2011

Visit Website
Current Ratings

Gain Capital have a great staff, and were extremely helpful in connecting my software with an API to their platform. But their latest legal change being more strict than NFA. Gain Capital wants from anyone who is trading on behalf of more than himself to get NFA memberhsip, whereas the NFA allows a waiver for less than 400K in assets and less than 15 customers. Oh well, they were good while it lasted.
- Reviewed by Abe, December 8, 2010. Rating = 8/10
The Rollover is so expensive... I'll switch to Oanda. The customer service is poor, the execution sucks... I opened an account with them because of the free Ninja Trader platform. Now it not free anymore...
- Reviewed by Mike, October 18, 2010. Rating = 1/10
Placed a short trade with a stop loss. The market broke to the down side and all of a sudden, my stop loss was triggered. I called Trade Station and the explanation was that we can "elect" to execute the buy order if it is close to the pip spread. Notice he said that "if it is close". It turns out that Gain Capital has variable spreads. You cannot be profitable if they can do this at their discretion. Needless to say, this will be my last trade with Gain or Trade Station FX. I will use the platform for analysis but will not use it to trade again.
- Reviewed by FXT, June 11, 2010. Rating = 1/10
Gain Capital/ Forex.com is the worst broker hands down I have ever traded with. The support representatives seem to be sharper than the actual managers. I had a simple dispute over a bad tick and the support representative understood and wanted to give a reasonable credit, but the manager named ***** **** who is the dumbest most incompetent individual I have ever spoken with refused to give a credit and was very abusive and arrogant. I at the very least expect to be spoken to respectfully regardless of the disagreement. I am president of a company and it is outrageous that this company would hire a person like that who deals with individuals who are trading a good amount of money. Especially considering most traders lose all or most of their money because they are not professional traders. I will never trade at that company again. Also, if that company knew what was good it would get rid of that disrespectful punk ***** ****.
- Reviewed by Rick, May 20, 2010. Rating = 1/10

Rate & Review This Broker
2010/11 Gain Capital Ratings
More Broker Reviews

2009/10 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2009 - Apr 30, 2010

Stay away from Gain Capital. The spread means nothing. They will stop you out even if price is several pips plus spread away. I am moving my money away from them.
- Reviewed by John Galt, March 16, 2010. Rating = 1/10
Absolutely horrific. Got stuck with Gain because of TradeStation. Am closing account immediately.
- Reviewed by Anybody, June 6, 2009. Rating = 1/10
I have read several reviews about this broker and they all seem to be true. I was wondering why I kept being stopped out, and then I started looking at their price charts with their platform. The price charts showed a different story. My entries would hit in the price charts but would not hit my stop loss in the price charts. They would tell me my stop loss was hit briefly even after I attached a price chart from their platform showing them it did not hit my stop loss after my entry. Recently, I placed the same trade with Gain Capital and My Other Broker. I was stopped out shortly after with my Gain Capital account, but I was still in that same trade with My Other Broker with a gain. The price chart showed it never came close to hitting my stop loss. I would avoid this broker because they will provide terrible executions, which will cost you lots of hard earned money. BEWARE of Gain Capital!
- Reviewed by smalltime41, May 24, 2009. Rating = 1/10

Rate & Review This Broker
2009/10 Gain Capital Ratings
More Broker Reviews

2008/09 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2008 - Apr 30, 2009

They steal your money. Stops are taken without hitting. Forget about scalping, orders don't go thru right away. Sometime you have to try 10 times before your able to close trade.
- Reviewed by KC, April 30, 2009. Rating = 1/10
The worst forex broker in the world... if you clear through them on another broker, all of your orders/charts can be seen by them resulting in taking out your orders. Data is very unreliable and gaps. Many times I will place an order on the bid/ask and never get filled or my order will not show. Execution is very very slow! Do not use them!!
- Reviewed by Ken, April 9, 2009. Rating = 1/10
All the bad things you hear about Gain are true. I got stuck with them when I opened a TradeStation account. Love the platform and the automation but they have got to change brokers! They will stop you out just because they can. The fact that it never traded at the price doesnt matter. I also have an account at FXCM and I use them as well and check there see if my stop would have been hit and without fail it never traded to my stop there either. The slippage is horrific. Other than that no complaints.
- Reviewed by JustDont DoIt, February 11, 2009. Rating = 1/10
Worst broker ever! Bad fills, especially when getting out. They stop hunt their customers. Get this, you can't even get an accurate year end statement showing the commissions they charged. Too bad, I really like Tradestation for developing my systems, but won't use them anymore because of Gain. Now I will have to learn another platform syntax to use my systems.
- Reviewed by tramp, January 2, 2009. Rating = 1/10
Horrible, horrible customer support for institutional traders. The level of incompetence experienced at all levels is inconceivable. I'm truly not sure how this company stays in business. Stay away at all costs. We barely were able to trade a demo account much less connect our clients and automated trading system with a live account.
- Reviewed by Michael, July 4, 2008. Rating = 1/10

Rate & Review This Broker
2008/09 Gain Capital Ratings
More Broker Reviews

2007/08 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2007 - Apr 30, 2008

Been trading live since 2005. The high leverage is awesome for short term trading. The trailing stops are nice too. Gain Capital is great for the strategy I use it for.
- Reviewed by Osiris, March 15, 2008. Rating = 10/10
Was ONLY stuck with them as I had a Tradestation Account. I lost my account with them. First I thought it was ONLY ME who did that NOW I believe they helped me do so too... Just one example.... One day I was Short AUDJPY pair. With in a second price spiked about 90 pips against my position. Then with in a minute it came back where it was... WHAT IS THAT???????? Another credit that goes to them is SLIPPAGE.... Forex market does not work that way. I started tradintg without stops and probably that is why I lost all my account. Find someone else. I am going to close my account with Tradestation and don't want to enter NEW YEAR and start it with these LOSERS. I liked to tinker around with TS easylanguage but may be that is not worth it..... it is ONLY GAIN IN THEIR CAPITAL and LOSS on yours that is how the name GAIN.... LOSERS :(
- Reviewed by David, January 1, 2008. Rating = 1/10
I'm the latest one who burnt my fingers with Gain - not by choice but had-to as I was trying to consolidate my forex tradeing from IB to Tradestation. Gain is the worst trader I've ever seen - worser than worst flea market sellers. I'm no newbie but never got a chance to read the reviews at this site before jumping in as I had best hopes with Tradestation and expected them not to choose a cheap broker like GAIN. I timed all the sides and they always cheat you by 30 pips average at either side. I suggest that we tradestation users boycot TRADESTATION until they change from GAIN to somebody good. I'm also going to approach some of my buddies in legal to see if there is any class-action we can try on Tradestation.
- Reviewed by SamID, December 27, 2007. Rating = 1/10
Worst Forex broker I have ever used. Forex Phonies !! They stop hunt relentlessly and will pick you off minutes later after they know they can safely take your money and ring "their" cash register. Worst customer service imaginable. Takes them 3 days to post a wire transfer. All other brokers post wire transfers within hours. Getting funds out is even slower. Why Trade Station (everything else TS does is strictly first class) runs their Forex trades thru Gain is beyond comprehension. As a TradeStation user I can't wait until they switch to a better Forex dealer. Gain Capital is the worst of the worst of the worst. Stay away from them. Any other choice would be better.
- Reviewed by forextradewatch, November 11, 2007. Rating = 1/10
I've traded with Gain Capital (Forex.com) for more than 2 years. After a rough start, I ended up very pleased with them. Biggest positives: tight and consistent spreads, very quick order fills with minimal slippage most of the time, new and excellent user interface (although I mostly use their free API). Negatives: it's very difficult to get accurate information on interest rollovers during holiday weeks and withdrawals are often delayed (but eventually happen). Customer support is mixed, but overall acceptable. I was really pleased when they actually called me to warn me of a coming change in their API data.
- Reviewed by MP, June 7, 2007. Rating = 9/10

Rate & Review This Broker
2007/08 Gain Capital Ratings
More Broker Reviews

2006/07 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2006 - Apr 30, 2007

Dont even think about using them. You will regret it.
- Reviewed by austin, March 18, 2007. Rating = 1/10
They are no good at all.
- Reviewed by G., March 7, 2007. Rating = 1/10
Stay away. Slippage is atrocious.
- Reviewed by Leena, January 29, 2007. Rating = 1/10
Hello folks... Welcome to the world of FRAUDEX, which is at least how you'll feel once you've been with Gain Capital ... same as Tradestation Forex Broker- BEWARE!! you have a position on, news happens, you get out and they claim you exited too fast.. cause they'll go after a stop that isn't even there anymore - aka stop hunting/fishing - and will screw you BIG TIME every time you get out with a profit, they'll get you in again with similar excuses... ABSOLUTELY INCOMPETENT!! I'm so dissapointed and Disgusted I feel like giving up on Trading Forex... my question now is .. since abuse of customers is so wide spread amongst these forex brokers, WHEN THE HELL WILL THE GOVERNMENT STEP IN AND REGULATE THESE CRIMINALS?!?!?! CAUSE THAT'S WHAT THEY ARE!! THEY'LL TRADE AGAINST THEIR CUSTOMERS AND NOONE IS DOING A THING ABOUT IT .. SO THE ABUSES WILL CONTINUE AS LONG AS THE GOVERNMENT(S) DON'T DO A THING ABOUT IT!!! STAY AWAY, CAVEAT EMPTOR!!! YOU WILL LOSE MOST ! IF NOT ALL YOUR MONEY LIKE MANY HAVE - IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME CHECK OUT OTHER FOREX RATING WEBSITES AS WELL- PEACE!
- Reviewed by unluckyone, December 24, 2006. Rating = 1/10
Horrible. Wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole.
- Reviewed by macgeo99, December 12, 2006. Rating = 1/10
Slippage going in + slippage going out + spread = the most expensive trades you can make. This broker is all about THEIR gain.
- Reviewed by spottrader, November 27, 2006. Rating = 2/10
First experience in FX was with them. Absolutely horrid platform. Of dealing desk brokers, hard to get any worse, only ACM lies with them at the bottom of the barrel. Their rollover policies royally suck and they have all the disadvantages of a dealing desk broker with none of the advantages.
- Reviewed by Rufus, November 21, 2006. Rating = 2/10
Very informative platforms for the novice trader. I found out the hard way why they are targeting the novice investor. These guys give a new meaning to trading against you. They will actually go back in time and close a position at an earlier price if the market is beginning to move in your favor. There is NO WAY to make money when their trading desk has their crosshairs between your eyes whenever you have a trade on. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Reviewed by No way to GAIN, October 23, 2006. Rating = 3/10
Stuck with them because I use Tradestation also, sure hope they move to a better broker.
- Reviewed by Holder, October 8, 2006. Rating = 2/10
Re-quote during news.
- Reviewed by fxtrader8, August 18, 2006. Rating = 3/10
Friendly user interface but lack good charting. Dealing desk tends to requote quite often.
- Reviewed by FXusa, August 1, 2006. Rating = 4/10

Rate & Review This Broker
2006/07 Gain Capital Ratings
More Broker Reviews

2005/06 Gain Capital Reviews

May 1, 2005 - Apr 30, 2006

Never requote but "the price changed" (you can not get good price from Gain).
Rating = 2/10 - April 9, 2006
Too many holidays. Average spreads. But working with them because I am with TradeStation. Hope that Tradestation changes them to OANDA.
Rating = 3/10 - December 28, 2005

Rate & Review This Broker
2005/06 Gain Capital Ratings
2004/05 Ratings
More Broker Reviews

   

ZuluTrade Alpha Judge
Trading Services Reviews

Bookmark this page

©2004-2013 GoForex. All Rights Reserved. *Disclaimer | GCI Financial Warning!